• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

WC wins Conference Player, Coach of the Year Awards

The Northern Texas Junior College Athletic Conference has announced their All-Conference basketball teams for the 2017-18 season.

#10-Masha VasilevkoWeatherford College Lady Coyote Masha Vasilevko was named women’s Player of the Year and Coach Bob McKinley was named Co-Coach of the Year along with Jeff Allen from Collin College.

Vasilevko, a 6-foot-1-inch forward/post from Belarus, led the conference in scoring with 18.3 points per game. She also led the NTJCAC in three-point shooting at 43.9 percent.3 6 18 McKinley

This is McKinley’s 12th Coach of the Year award. In his 41st year at WC, McKinley surpassed the 900-win mark this season, leading the Lady Coyotes to their 15th conference title under his direction.

Vasilevko is joined on the women’s All-Conference first team by WC’s Tahnia McDaniel.

Honorable mentions went to Eva Lewis, Reyna Ammons, Destiney Winkfield and Dovile Strimaityte.

WC’s Zach Naylor was named to the All-Conference men’s first team for the second year in a row. Tyrik Armstrong and Josh Ihek were both second team honorees.

Northern Texas Junior College Athletic Conference 2017-18 Women’s Basketball Awards

Player of the Year: Masha Vasilevko – Weatherford
Freshman of the Year: Alexa Hoy – Hill
Defensive Player of the Year: Ashtyn Beal – Collin
Newcomer of the Year: Jasmin Taylor – Collin
Co-Coach of the Year: Jeff Allen – Collin, Bob McKinley – Weatherford

All-Conference, First Team: Masha Vasilevko – Weatherford, Mya Johnson – Collin, Alexa Hoy – Hill, Jaylonn Walker – McLennan, Jordynn Hernandez – Collin, Kylah Mize – Ranger, Tahnia McDaniel – Weatherford, Velma Mitchell – McLennan, Ashtyn Beal – Collin, Keviona Barber – Cisco, Kristen Nelson – Temple, Arhianna Sims-Jackson – Hill

Honorable Mention: Cisco – Traeli Calhoun, Zoe Holmes, Alexis Jones; Collin – Asia Davis, Briana Marshall; Hill – Miranda Stephens, Jade Compton, Tamia Cunigan; McLennan – Keekee Nowlin; Ranger – Shan’Qaylia Stanton, Marshalia Lollie, Ny’Keria Jones, Lena Maledon; Temple – Alena Johnston, Jamia Miller; Weatherford – Eva Lewis, Reyna Ammons, Destiney Winkfield, Dovile Strimaityte

Northern Texas Junior College Athletic Conference 2017-18 Men’s Basketball Awards

Player of the Year: Jashawn Talton – McLennan
Freshman of the Year: Tajzmel Sherman – Collin
Defensive Player of the Year: J.R. Adams – Temple, Javen Hedgeman – McLennan
Newcomer of the Year: Xaiver Armstead – McLennan
Co-Coach of the Year: Kevin Gill – McLennan, Jim Sigona – Collin

All-Conference, First Team: Jashawn Talton – McLennan, Tajzmel Sherman – Collin, Akiem Daschner – Ranger, Kaelin Jackson – Temple, Zach Naylor – Weatherford, Xaiver Armstead – McLennan, Mike Medlin – Hill, J.R. Adams – Temple, Jonathyn Washington – Collin, Xavier Johnson – Hill, Caleb Smith – Ranger, Javen Hedgeman – McLennan

All-Conference, Second-Team: Tyrik Armstrong – Weatherford, Jontavius Littles – SWCC, Tyrick Bennett – Collin, Jackson Nobles – Collin, Jabri McCall – Ranger, John Mouton – Temple, Josh Ihek – Weatherford

Honorable Mention: Collin – Jalen Weber, CJ Obinwa; Hill – Andre Washington, Xaviar Gaona; McLennan – Daniel Pinho-Severo, Dayante McClellan; Ranger – Devonte Patterson, Keyshaad Dixon; SWCC – Antonio Dorsey, Trevic Atkins; Temple – Terreon Randolph, Sebastian Karwoski