• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Latest News

  • WC places 2nd in calf roping, 3rd in bull riding at Frank Phillips College Rodeo +

    Weatherford College’s Thane Lockhart placed Read More
  • Lady Coyote sophomores set sights on conference championship +

    The sophomore members of the Read More
  • WC Alumni Rodeo and Ag Reunion set for Oct. 19 +

    It’s long been known that Read More
  • Hoss takes first in goat tying, sets WC record +

    Kodey Hoss placed first in Read More
  • WC Alumni Rodeo & Ag Reunion +

    Weatherford College is hosting a Read More
  • Four Coyotes selected for All-Star baseball weekend +

    Four Coyote baseball players have Read More
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

WC athletes recognized for academic excellence

Weatherford College has announced that 14 student athletes are part of a record academic year for the National Junior College Athletic Association making one of three NJCAA All-Academic teams.

“Student-athletes raised the bar once again to reiterate the importance of academics throughout the NJCAA,” said NJCAA President and CEO Christopher Parker. “As an association, we take tremendous pride in knowing that our student-athletes put their best foot forward each day to become well-rounded members of their team, their campus and their communities.”

A total of 6,656 student athletes were recognized for the academic excellence nationwide.

At WC, the honor went to:

  • Women’s Basketball: second team – Andreja Peciuraite; third team – Anna Jefferson-Polk, Faith Norman, Masa Vercic, River Romine.

  • Men’s Basketball: second team – Luka Tejic; third team – Aleksa Vujadinovic.

  • Softball: third team – Dakota Gatton, Marisa Cruz, Mattye Tyler, Morgan Page.

  • Baseball: second team - Bryce Hackett; third team – Matthew Grimes, Ty Bowring.

Student-athletes are eligible to earn academic honors by achieving an overall grade point average of 3.60 or higher. The criteria for third team is 3.60 to 3.79, second team 3.8 to 3.99 and first team is 4.0.

The NJCAA has annually recognized the academic success of its student-athletes since 1983.